Star Wars Mania

My fiance is a huge Star Wars fan. I love Star Trek and like the original Star Wars movies before they added 1-3. Anyways, he purchased tickets in October for Star Wars: The Force Awakens showing tomorrow night. We have been watching the Big Bang Theory and he casual laughs about something he saw on Facebook while looking at his phone. We began discussing the post he laughed at.  It was something about a father and son talking about how to talk to girls. The end note was “grow a pair and talk to them”. It can be quite difficult to understand me at times. I have ADD (Attention deficit disorder) and sometimes my brain just jumbles the sentence up and it takes me a bit to get out what I am saying. If I get interrupted mid-sentence good luck getting that train back on the rails without me having to think for a minute. It gets worse when I am tired and I am trying to just talk about a simple task.

**Addition** I read this to James and I got to the part about interrupting me mid-sentence. He said “You don’t just have a train off the tracks, your trains go everywhere and they are not coming back.” Now some may think that was mean, it’s actually quite true so I found it pretty funny. *Addition*

My response to the Facebook post was that ” It is not always a good thing. Think of the way I talk, sometimes it is hard to even listen to me talk because I can not say things as well as I am trying to. For example, you and I could be talking and I am describing a taco. Your thoughts would most likely be ‘why is she describing a taco?’ Well, I couldn’t think of the word for “taco” and that’s why I was describing it. I told james that half the time people can’t understand what I am saying.”

He looked at me and said “No, more like 3/4 of time. I am saying it in a loving way though.” (I said something between those two sentences but I can’t remember what it was, just go with it).
I told him “You need to Tweet this whole conversation.”
James said, “I don’t have twitter”
“Well then you should put it on Facebook, and why the hell did I just say ‘tweet that’?”
He said “I don’t use social media that much.”
“It would be funny if you did, because you never do.”
He said, “If I posted something to Facebook zombies would rise up tomorrow.”
“Good. It needs to happen, we need a zombie apocalypse.”
James replied, “NO, Star Wars is tomorrow! I am not dealing with zombies when we are going to see Star Wars.”

I laughed and immediately said I was going to post this on Facebook (which I did) because it was totally him. He has been going crazy all week long, possibly counting down the seconds until we go see the movie.

For the record, I am skipping my work’s Christmas party to go to this movie with him. I believe it is a fair trade.

I was talking about going to his nieces birthday party tomorrow if I got off work early. He looked at me like I asked him to search for the holy grail while balancing a bowl on his head, and said “uh no it’s Star Wars tomorrow”. I made a derisive comment something to the effect of “oh yeah, how could I forget about that”.

Don’t get me wrong, I am excited for the new movie. I am excited to see what a collaboration between J.J. Abrahams and Disney can do together. I know most people have been terrified of what is going to happen, but the trailers look pretty good. He tried to sweeten the deal for me by saying that I will get the see the trailer for the new Star Trek movie before Star Wars begins. I was quite excited about that. Some would believe we have a house divided like OSU vs. OU or something. Not really, many people like both and others are hard-core fans for just one or the other. What about you guys, are you excited for the new movie? Do you like both, neither, or just one?Also, what do they call Star Wars fans now that Lucas no longer has the rights to it? I mean Star Trek fans are called Trekkies, Doctor Who fans are called Whovians, and as far as I knew Star Wars fans were called “Lucas-hounds” (not sure how true that is). It is possible they could just be called “the world” as James said earlier today.

 

Published by: Dungeon Master Kristi

I am a nerd. There I said it, it's out in the open now. I love Star Trek, Star Wars, Firefly, Doctor Who...and the list goes on and on. I also LOVE to play Dungeons and Dragons. I am the Dungeon Master of a game I run once a month with my friends. This website, my Facebook group, and my YouTube channel, are all out there to show you how I design a campaign and build my dungeons. I usually use Hirst Art molds to create and build my dungeons, however, I have been using foam board and random other objects you might think are trash to create items for our games. Four four weekends a month, I work on the story, the design, and putting the game together. I love that my friends can leave their lives behind for a few hours a month and just immerse themselves in my game. This page will just be blog posts describing things that happen in the games, things that happen while working on my builds, and other thoughts on our dungeons and dragons adventures.

Categories blogging, entertainment, geek, nerd, UncategorizedTags, , , , , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

