Giving the floor a hug….again

Hello blog readers! I know it’s been awhile between posts and I sincerely apologize for that.

My best friend, Kayleigh, was married October 17th and I was one of her bridesmaids.

If you have ever been a bridesmaid, or groomsman, you can understand the daunting task of taking on that role in someone else’s wedding.

As a bridesmaid I had to purchase my own dress, thank you so much Kayleigh for just saying, “Make it floor length, and it has to be navy blue with silver as an accent. The silver is not required, but those are our colors.” So, being the 4’11” person that I am, I needed to start looking right away. Everything I buy usually has to be tailored or hemmed. I currently weigh 222 lbs after losing 23 over the last two months (I will have another post about that next). So I had to do custom measurements.

just kristi

This was how it came out after altering it. Not to bad.

I had to step out of my comfort zone and go to a nightclub…it was an interesting experience, but I probably won’t do it again lol. I was the designated driver for most of the group, so I watched everyone else get drunk, which is fun for me.

The wedding day came, and I had to get my hair done and do my make up (Sadly, I couldn’t afford to have someone else do it for me). My neighbor did my hair, Christin is a miracle worker, and I spent 20 minutes on my own makeup. That’s a long time for me, I usually get it done in 5 minutes haha.

We had to travel to the Orr Family Farm  for the wedding. The place was PACKED with people wanting to see the sites of the farm. it had hay rides, train rides, food, a pumpkin patch, etcetera. So we had to traverse through lines of people to get to our destination, dressed in our finest. That was a nightmare.

Anyways, I had to explain the wedding because it goes with the “giving the floor a hug” title. Everyone, including my fiancé, thought I was going to fall while walking down the aisle with the groomsman paired with me. Kayleigh paired me with the shortest guy lol, so that worked out well.

I DID NOT FALL…during the ceremony. I fell on the way to the reception. The bridal suite was on the other side of the train tracks where a horse and buggy could park to pick up Kayleigh and her maid of honor. So there are about 15-20 people standing in line waiting for the hay ride. They are behind me, as I am facing the bridal suite. I am walking towards the suite, following my friend Shianne (another brides maid as well) and I tried to step over the track……

…..my shoe caught on my dress and I tripped and slammed my shin on the track. NO ONE in line came to help me up. Shianne turned around and helped me stand up and get to the bridal suite. I had no cuts, but I had a giant bruise diagonally across my shin.

I REFUSED to tell the bride what happened, because I didn’t want to ruin her happy night. Why make my friend feel upset because I have two left feet, when she can stay oblivious to the incident and be blissfully happy on her wedding day? So I tried to dance….yep didn’t happen for longer than a minute or two.

We left about two hours into the reception.

Kayleigh told me she was upset I didn’t tell her because she wanted to hug me when she found out after the reception was over.

Today I have a huge bruise down my shin and on my foot, and it has been three weeks already! This is the same leg that I sprained my ankle on 8 or 9 months ago.

I am laughing about my misfortune because I see no point getting upset about it. I know I trip on air on a daily basis.

The good thing is that I can actually walk up and down the stairs without any issue now, so yay me!

I know this is not a crafting related post, but be careful out there it can be dangerous to walk and chew gum at the same time. Imagine how dangerous it could be to paint a mini and watch television? You could burn your eyes out!

Tell me about your experiences with “tripping on air”; or “giving the floor a hug”; or “attacking the floor because it gave you a dirty look”. Let me know in the comments!

Check out my side bar for my Facebook page and youtube channel!

Thanks for reading!

Published by: Dungeon Master Kristi

I am a nerd. There I said it, it's out in the open now. I love Star Trek, Star Wars, Firefly, Doctor Who...and the list goes on and on. I also LOVE to play Dungeons and Dragons. I am the Dungeon Master of a game I run once a month with my friends. This website, my Facebook group, and my YouTube channel, are all out there to show you how I design a campaign and build my dungeons. I usually use Hirst Art molds to create and build my dungeons, however, I have been using foam board and random other objects you might think are trash to create items for our games. Four four weekends a month, I work on the story, the design, and putting the game together. I love that my friends can leave their lives behind for a few hours a month and just immerse themselves in my game. This page will just be blog posts describing things that happen in the games, things that happen while working on my builds, and other thoughts on our dungeons and dragons adventures.

Categories accidents, blogging, entertainmentTags, , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

