Stepping out of your comfort zone….

My friend Kayleigh is getting married next month to her fiancé David. Woo hoo! Kayleigh asked me to be a bridesmaid in her wedding. I never realized how much effort goes into being a bridesmaid! Finding the right dress (she requested it be navy blue and floor length. That’s it.) that would fit me properly, getting my hair and makeup done for the wedding,  and finding the right outfit to wear for the bachelorette party.

To most women this would be an easy task. For me it is like asking me to balance a boulder on my shoulders for 100 days without getting tired. I’m serious, this is crazy for me.

The Maid of Honor (MOH) is planning a bachelorette party at one of the hottest clubs in Oklahoma City. I do not go out to clubs, I do not dance, and I do not know how to dress myself like a girl. Seriously, when I went shopping for business casual work clothes, I had to have someone in the store help me find appropriate attire.

I like wearing jeans and a t-shirt as often as I can. Over the last few years I have had friends try to help me cross out of my comfort zone. One friend bought me makeup brushes, makeup, and then taught me how to use them. My mother was not a dressy kind of girl, she never wore makeup and only wore a dress to her wedding and the Marine Corps ball. She never taught me how to wear makeup, I had to learn the hard way with trial and error. There were many times I looked like a street walker when I left my house….ugh.

When the MOH told me I should “dress to the nines” for the bachelorette party. I laughed out loud for a few minutes because my brain doesn’t even comprehend that sentence. I don’t understand the club scene. So what did I do? I researched the club’s website and their Facebook page to find out the dress code. (Seriously this club has a dress code) The women can pretty much dress how they want as long as they look sexy and stylish.

Sexy and what now? What is style? How do you “dress to impress”? Please dear god tell me I don’t have to wear heels to this thing, or we will be taking a trip to the hospital before the night is out.

I expressed my concerns to the MOH, and she said she would help me dress for the party. I’m afraid….I do not even know how to dance. I look like a penguin taking a stroll when I try to dance. Go ahead and laugh, I know I look ridiculous when I dance. I can sing, but I have no rhythm on the dance floor.

I cannot wear heels right now. I am still recovering from a sprained ankle from 6 months ago. I still have to do physical therapy daily to strengthen my ankle. I tried wearing heels for my new job. I have been in agony for the last week because my ankle is not strong enough. So wearing heels is out. Fortunately the MOH agreed with me and said flats were appropriate. Score!

******UPDATE*******UPDATE*******UPDATE********

Here is the outfit I actually wore for the Bachelorette party!

10-09-2015 Full body photo

I was quite comfortable all night long, and danced the night away!

*****END OF UPDATE**** Please continue reading about stepping out of your comfort zone**********

Anyways, back to the comfort zone issue. I love my friend, and I want her to have the best wedding she could ever have. I agreed to have someone do my hair and makeup for the wedding. I agreed to go to the bachelorette party, let loose, and have a good time. She is so excited that I am moving out of my comfort zone to make her happy.

Leaving your comfort zone is not always a bad thing. Sometimes you can give someone a happy moment by just trying something different. I learned that I loved karaoke by trying it out one time. I understand and appreciate guns since my fiancé taught me how to use one. It’s nice having training from a former sniper for the Marine Corps.

My point is that you need to take a chance. Try something new. You may like it. You may make someone happy. You may find a new passion you didn’t know you had! Stepping out of my comfort zone, I am terrified of next month’s affair, but I am excited to see Kayleigh and David happy. If you don’t like the activity you are trying, make a mental note to not do it again, but don’t stop trying new things because one thing didn’t work out!

What have you tried that didn’t work out the way you hoped?

Were you afraid to try something new, but found out you loved it after you tried it? What was it? (PG comments please, kids could be reading this)

Let me know you answers in the comments! Don’t forget about my youtube channel, Facebook page, and twitter account. You can check those out on the side bar!

Published by: Dungeon Master Kristi

I am a nerd. There I said it, it's out in the open now. I love Star Trek, Star Wars, Firefly, Doctor Who...and the list goes on and on. I also LOVE to play Dungeons and Dragons. I am the Dungeon Master of a game I run once a month with my friends. This website, my Facebook group, and my YouTube channel, are all out there to show you how I design a campaign and build my dungeons. I usually use Hirst Art molds to create and build my dungeons, however, I have been using foam board and random other objects you might think are trash to create items for our games. Four four weekends a month, I work on the story, the design, and putting the game together. I love that my friends can leave their lives behind for a few hours a month and just immerse themselves in my game. This page will just be blog posts describing things that happen in the games, things that happen while working on my builds, and other thoughts on our dungeons and dragons adventures.

Categories entertainmentTags, Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

