Eating Healthier while gaming

Eating healthier is something that a lot of people strive to do, but just don’t understand the concept of HOW to eat healthier. I recently had an incident with a doctor that made me feel like crap for being overweight. I sprained my ankle 4 months ago and my foot was still swollen, and it still hurt to move it occasionally. So I went to a orthopedic doctor to try and get some help, and figure out what was wrong with my ankle.

All doctors are now required to talk to their patients about obesity and weight loss (even my optometrist had to!). Well this happened to be the third doctor I had seen in the course of 4 days that had to talk to me about my weight. My primary care provider and my optometrist were very polite about it, explaining that they know that I know that I need to think about how my weight can affect my health. I’m over 30, I realize I am 100 lbs overweight for my height. I also understand that it can cause joint issues, diabetes, high blood pressure, etc. This doctor (who shall remain nameless), was a complete jerk (in my opinion) about my weight. I asked him why my ankle was still hurting after 4 months. His answer was “you have to much weight on it.” Straight forward, no empathy in his voice, just that sentence.

Most people will think, well that’s not that bad. He didn’t outright say you were so fat that your massive amount of weight is putting to much strain on that ankle. No, he didn’t say that. However, I felt like punching him in the face for the WAY he said it. He could have been a little more tactful about it.

I explained to him that I try to eat healthy, i try to exercise as much as I can, but nothing has been working. He told me “if you were eating healthy the weight would just come off.” Not necessarily, I could have a thyroid problem, I could not be eating the right kind of healthy foods, etc. Which is what I said to him. He just brushed it off as though I said nothing. He told me to read some books about healthy eating (yeah that will get me off my butt and moving…lets read a book).

Anyways, I left his office seething with anger because he insulted me and basically called me a liar. I may have taken this whole conversation completely out of proportion and just had an emotional moment. Maybe I did. Maybe he was a jerk. Maybe I didn’t hear him correctly. Maybe ducks walked into the room.

Whatever the reason behind my anger, I was mad. I called my mom, crying on the phone and feeling horrible. I felt as though the world was crashing down around me and I couldn’t claw my way out fast enough. I was not heavy as a kid. I didn’t start gaining weight until I was around 12 or 13. I blame emotional issues that I will not get into on here, where I ate food to comfort me. As I got older, I continued to eat junk: fast food, chips, cookies, soda, etc. I barely ate fruits or vegetables, and a rarely drank water.

My mom and I discussed the fact that we don’t understand how to eat, or what to eat to keep our bodies healthy. Her and I have the habit of barely eating 2 meals a day, so our bodies are constantly in starvation mode. Starvation mode makes your body store the food that you are taking in because it doesn’t know when you are going to eat again.

That day I made a decision. I was going to try and eat healthier and lose some of this weight. I talked to my gynecologist, who placed me on phentermine. Phentermine is a weight loss pill that boosts your metabolism and helps curb your appetite. With a person who rarely eats, I had to make myself eat every 3 hours (something small), to get my body back to normal and help my metabolism start back up. I am not endorsing this product. Always check with your doctor before buying medication online, or taking anything that might cause more problems for you.

I began researching healthy diets, how to eat right. I am NOT going to count calories. I am trying for portion control and good healthy foods. I am basically mixing part of the paleo diet and vegetarian diet together, while upping my protein intake. I am proud to say that I just gave away the rest of the soda in my house, and I am drinking about 72 oz of water a day. I do put crystal light in my water, so I take that into account if I am adding any sugar to my meals. I am trying to cut out the unhealthy sugars and eat healthy sugar (carrots are full of sugar, but it’s good sugar in moderation).

I also found a neat blog (click here for more information) that describes “Salad’s in a Jar” that you can make and take with you to work.

IMG_3009

These are the ones I made for my lunches for work this week. They keep for about 5 days in the fridge, so that works out for me.

IMG_3013

I also made these “Fruity Oat Bars” from the The geeky chef cookbook that I talked about in my last post. Yes that is blue food coloring. Yes they look funny. They are healthy and I can eat them for breakfast or a snack and get some good nutrition for the day.

I am hoping that once I start eating healthy, I will not want to eat junk as much and drop this weight. I am trying to lose almost 100 lbs. I know it took me 9-11 years to get this overweight, and it will take awhile to come down. For the moment my only workout is my physical therapy I do 2x a week. That was the orthopedic doctors saving grace. For those who have never done physical therapy, it is quite a workout when you are trying to balance, hop, stretch, and move on an ankle that doesn’t want to do that. I am hoping to add more exercise to my routine once my physical therapy is over.

I know this post isn’t strictly geeky related, but think about what kinds of healthy foods you could bring to the table during a game night. Even a fruit tray, or a vegetable tray would be good to give an option for those that are trying to eat healthier.

Published by: Dungeon Master Kristi

I am a nerd. There I said it, it's out in the open now. I love Star Trek, Star Wars, Firefly, Doctor Who...and the list goes on and on. I also LOVE to play Dungeons and Dragons. I am the Dungeon Master of a game I run once a month with my friends. This website, my Facebook group, and my YouTube channel, are all out there to show you how I design a campaign and build my dungeons. I usually use Hirst Art molds to create and build my dungeons, however, I have been using foam board and random other objects you might think are trash to create items for our games. Four four weekends a month, I work on the story, the design, and putting the game together. I love that my friends can leave their lives behind for a few hours a month and just immerse themselves in my game. This page will just be blog posts describing things that happen in the games, things that happen while working on my builds, and other thoughts on our dungeons and dragons adventures.

Categories cooking, food, healthy food, weight lossTags, , , , , , 3 Comments

3 thoughts on “Eating Healthier while gaming”

Leave a Reply

