Is it a tribble?…..player antics

So we had our latest Dungeons and Dragons session last Saturday. It was the best game I have ever Dm’d, mainly because it was so hilarious!

Our games usually last 4-5 hours, this game was only an hour. We started out in an abandoned Giant’s castle that only had 5 or 6 rooms for the players to explore. I expected it to not be a long game because one of my players only had an hour and a half of sleep before going to work that day, and her husband had to be at work by 10pm. We start our games at 4pm usually, this game didn’t start until 6pm.

Anyways, we started the game with our monk (who had been traveling on his own for awhile) trapped in a cage being fought over by two sorcerers. They wanted to eat him, but didn’t want to share. Our players came into the room and fight ensued.

Down the hall the monk, who is now out of his cage, happened upon an orange ball of fuzz. All of the players immediately said “IS IT A TRIBBLE?!”. I couldn’t even make the meowing sound I wanted to make to indicate it was a kitten, until I came back inside from laughing so hard that I was snorting. Once I said it was a kitten the monk wanted to kill it…….well a fight ensued amongst the players (see my new video for more info on that fight lol).

The kitten ran away and went into a pitch black room. One of the players, who could see in the dark, knew what was waiting for them in the room. Before I told him what was in there, my cleric/sorcerer (not sure which one…sorry Shawn) wanted to light his staff up to get some illumination. Dorameer screamed NOOOO! so he wouldn’t do that because he knew something had to be in the room.

I can be quite evil to my players sometimes lol. So, Dorameer figured out what was in the room and tried to walk quietly to just gather the gems in the corner and get the treasure chests. Well the kitten messed that up and started yowling because he was scared. (poor kitty) A swarm of bats came raining down upon the players, 19 of them.

More chaos ensued on the other side of the castle with players trying to get treasure and killing random animals for XP.

The poor kitten was murdered with a magic missile because they were mad that he gave them away. My Paladin was speaking a british accent during this time and was describing what the bats looked like, stating they were sapphire bats that were jewel encrusted……I didn’t let her get away with that description, but I thought it was awesome that she made that up on the spot. I have little player cards, that players get in treasure boxes, that can give them extra XP or gold for doing certain things: throwing a paper ball at someone; giving the DM a Dr. Pepper; speaking in a british accent; laughing for a whole round, or yelling Leroy Jenkins! and not getting hurt when running into a random room without trap checking. The list goes on and on for stuff they can do.

I found it hilarious to make them do random stuff…it makes the game more exciting.

Check out my newest video for more info about the game. Click here!

Published by: Dungeon Master Kristi

I am a nerd. There I said it, it's out in the open now. I love Star Trek, Star Wars, Firefly, Doctor Who...and the list goes on and on. I also LOVE to play Dungeons and Dragons. I am the Dungeon Master of a game I run once a month with my friends. This website, my Facebook group, and my YouTube channel, are all out there to show you how I design a campaign and build my dungeons. I usually use Hirst Art molds to create and build my dungeons, however, I have been using foam board and random other objects you might think are trash to create items for our games. Four four weekends a month, I work on the story, the design, and putting the game together. I love that my friends can leave their lives behind for a few hours a month and just immerse themselves in my game. This page will just be blog posts describing things that happen in the games, things that happen while working on my builds, and other thoughts on our dungeons and dragons adventures.

Categories dungeons and dragons, entertainment, geek, nerd, tabletop gamesTags, , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

