30 Days of Dungeons and Dragons (Day 29-30)

30-day-challenge

Day 29: What is the number you always seem to roll on a D20

Lately, the only number I keep rolling on a D20 is a 10, so as the DM that is horrible for me, haha. I started rolling three D20’s at a time to try and help me at least get a middle number. Between those three, I usually roll a 10, 15, and usually a 4. So Between those I would usually take the 15 depending upon what my players are doing.

Day 30: Best DM You’ve Had

The BEST DM I have ever had was my friend Bear (yes that’s what we call him). He is a 6’3 red head, who is a huge teddy bear. He played a game with me where we had absolutely no miniatures and no map. We just used our imagination. We only used a D20 to roll with while he described what was going on and asking us what we were doing. I LOVED IT! I tried doing this same sort of scenario with my own players. I usually have a map that I have made and they can pretty much see what is in the room. However, lately I have been doing more “outdoors” scenes and nothing is really on the map, so I have to describe more. It seems fun for everyone.

I take a lot of notes from my players, and find out what they want to see and what they didn’t like with the game we had. That is my biggest note to new DM’s: listen to your players! I have a huge mixture of players, some want more role-playing, some want more monster fights, some want more gold, some want more items, etc. So I try to play to all of them. For example, in the last game I used one of my players backstories and put it into the game. I gave more role-playing, I added extra loot, I also added a giant monster to fight with extra XP. Try to do what they ask for so it is fun for you and fun for them!

Life update!

My mother came into town for the weekend just to see me! She was on her way to South Carolina and visited me just for the weekend. We had lunch today and yesterday with my fiancé. She was quite excited to just play with my Pitbull “Buck” and hang out. I am also on my second week of school for my Masters Degree in Criminal Justice, so thats awesome (kind of…I hate papers lol). I do all my schooling online so I have a habit of doing mostly papers, usually 8-10 page papers.

Sorry it’s been a bit since I have written. Since I started school again I am doing mostly nothing but research, working, and writing papers.

Don’t forget to check out my Youtube channel, Facebook page, and Twitter page on the side widget!

Published by: Dungeon Master Kristi

I am a nerd. There I said it, it's out in the open now. I love Star Trek, Star Wars, Firefly, Doctor Who...and the list goes on and on. I also LOVE to play Dungeons and Dragons. I am the Dungeon Master of a game I run once a month with my friends. This website, my Facebook group, and my YouTube channel, are all out there to show you how I design a campaign and build my dungeons. I usually use Hirst Art molds to create and build my dungeons, however, I have been using foam board and random other objects you might think are trash to create items for our games. Four four weekends a month, I work on the story, the design, and putting the game together. I love that my friends can leave their lives behind for a few hours a month and just immerse themselves in my game. This page will just be blog posts describing things that happen in the games, things that happen while working on my builds, and other thoughts on our dungeons and dragons adventures.

Categories dungeons and dragons, entertainment, geek, nerd, tabletop gamesTags, Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

