30 Days of Dungeons and Dragons: Day 22

30-day-challenge

Day 22: Favorite Monster Overall

Screen Shot 2015-05-22 at 5.02.03 AM

THIS is my favorite Monster overall. It is called a Shocker Lizard. They are a small magical beast that only have 13 measly hit points. You are probably thinking (if you have never come against this creature), “13 hp? Seriously? That’s ridiculous? How can this monster even cause a fuss?”

I will tell you how. This guy is a reptile with a body like an electric eel. Their entire body can generate intense electrical shock. They lurk in the swamps and places that are damp and have lots of water. You getting the picture yet? Water + electricity = you are now dead. Well maybe mostly dead……If you are unconscious they will then try to bite your face off.

The nice thing about these tiny creatures, is that they will try to ward you off first before fighting. How nice of them. They don’t want to fight you. Now you don’t usually come across just one shocker lizard, you usually will come across 5-6 at one time. Or if you have a DM like me, I will place 10 of these buggers in one spot. Then again, I like to make my players think of how to survive.

I have used these before in a game. My players were smart. They climb on top of rocks and stayed out of the water. They used arrows to try and kill them instead. They actually used an immovable rod and placed a shield up in the air. They then placed our gnome rouge (gnomes coming back y’all) on top of the shield. She killed them all. But I digress. Back to the Shocker Lizard.

They are small, they are electrical, and they are smart about how they will try to kill you. They will warn you first so you stay away. If you are smart you will leave their cave and abandon all treasure you may hope to find there. My players, however, would rather die getting the gold then walking away from it.

Don’t forget what I said in a previous post: don’t count out the little guy.

What’s your favorite monster?

Don’t forget to check out my YouTube, Facebook, and Twitter pages on the side widget! I have a new video up on YouTube. You can check out the video in my blog…i think it was two posts ago. Thanks for reading!

Published by: Dungeon Master Kristi

I am a nerd. There I said it, it's out in the open now. I love Star Trek, Star Wars, Firefly, Doctor Who...and the list goes on and on. I also LOVE to play Dungeons and Dragons. I am the Dungeon Master of a game I run once a month with my friends. This website, my Facebook group, and my YouTube channel, are all out there to show you how I design a campaign and build my dungeons. I usually use Hirst Art molds to create and build my dungeons, however, I have been using foam board and random other objects you might think are trash to create items for our games. Four four weekends a month, I work on the story, the design, and putting the game together. I love that my friends can leave their lives behind for a few hours a month and just immerse themselves in my game. This page will just be blog posts describing things that happen in the games, things that happen while working on my builds, and other thoughts on our dungeons and dragons adventures.

Categories dungeons and dragons, entertainment, geek, nerd, tabletop gamesTags, , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

