Join the trend! DND 30 day challenge! Favorite game world (day 4)

30-day-challenge

DAY 4: FAVORITE GAME WORLD

I do not actually have a favorite “game world” for Dungeons and Dragons. I have played a Pathfinder world through a module called Thornkeep, but I wouldn’t call it my favorite. It had a lot of things that the players could do and lots of options they could choose from to have a good time within the module itself. However, every DM I have ever played with, and even myself as a DM, has just made up a game world all on our own. I never really wanted to utilize a module and have a pre-made game world for my players to play in, but i was getting a bit run down from working on the game every day after working for 40-50 hrs a week at the time.

I like the game world that the DM has made up all on their own and lets the players just design the rest of the game for them. For example, I am working on some short stories (coming out in the next few months or so) that are based around the world I am creating right now: The Land of Tilea. I had a thought about placing my PC’s in a place they had never been: (spoiler alert for my players if they are are reading this before the 16th) a land of ice and snow. I wanted them to experience cold temperatures and figure out how to get around being in leather or metal armor and robes. I try to make up the worlds using my players back stories so I can make them feel more incorporated in the game (i have 9 players – yes, yes i know WOW HOW TO DO YOU HANDLE THAT MANY PEOPLE??). One of my players has a back story that their true form is something else other than a half-elf (can’t spoil that for my players on request of the paladin with this backstory, sorry guys) . So her and I have been collaborating with her backstory so I can fit it into The Land of Tilea that I started.

I am going to make some tweeks here and there to how I run the campaign and what they see in the game, but ultimately it depends on which turn they take that determines what I do in the story. I don’t have anything really written out when we start our games, I just make it up as I go and that makes for a much more interesting game in my opinion. Some DM’s need the structure, need the modules, need the pre-made dungeon crawl worlds that help them keep their players in a straight line.

Let me lay my players out for you. Most are adults and we have three kids how play with us:

Cat and Jay (married)

Kelly and Clint (dating)

Shawn and Kris (Kelly’s two boys, 16 and 12)

Zach (neighbor)

Joseph (fiance’s nephew, 16)

James (fiance)

I have ADD, and the mighty “DM staff of talking” (video below) help me keep control of the crowd. I give them 5 minutes to figure out what their plan of attack when moving between rooms (I lay A LOT of traps) and then hold up my mace to quiet them down to figure out what they have decided. It works for us, keeps us from yelling a lot of stuff at one time to each other. We can be calm about it. But I am getting off track again…sorry..lets get back to the original question.

All of my players have different ideas and different wants in the game world. If I let them create it themselves (with a little control on my end) then I have the best Game World I could ever ask for.

So I guess my actual answer to the question is: The world that the players and DM created together with just their imagination and a lot of quick thinking.

DM Staff of Talking

What’s your favorite DND game world? Let me know in the comments!

Don’t forget to check out my Facebook, twitter, and Youtube channel!

Published by: Dungeon Master Kristi

I am a nerd. There I said it, it's out in the open now. I love Star Trek, Star Wars, Firefly, Doctor Who...and the list goes on and on. I also LOVE to play Dungeons and Dragons. I am the Dungeon Master of a game I run once a month with my friends. This website, my Facebook group, and my YouTube channel, are all out there to show you how I design a campaign and build my dungeons. I usually use Hirst Art molds to create and build my dungeons, however, I have been using foam board and random other objects you might think are trash to create items for our games. Four four weekends a month, I work on the story, the design, and putting the game together. I love that my friends can leave their lives behind for a few hours a month and just immerse themselves in my game. This page will just be blog posts describing things that happen in the games, things that happen while working on my builds, and other thoughts on our dungeons and dragons adventures.

Categories dungeons and dragons, entertainment, geek, nerd, tabletop gamesTags, , , , , , , 1 Comment

One thought on “Join the trend! DND 30 day challenge! Favorite game world (day 4)”

Leave a Reply

