Join The Trend: DAY 2: Favorite Playable Race- The Gnome (for me)

30-day-challenge

Day 2 Favorite Playable Race

I have only ever played a Halfling or a half-elf as a player. As a DM, I have watched people play all of the different races and played a few myself. My favorite would have to be the Gnome. I know you are thinking “The Gnome? ugh why?”. Well I will tell you why.

If you look at all the other races, most of them know gnome language (going on 3.5 edition information), that gives them a leg up already because my PC (player character for those new to this game) can speak to everyone in our party. They are tiny, not as tiny as halflings, but tiny enough to seem innocuous. They are considered to be 3-3.5 ft tall. They gain a size bonus on their armor class, attack rolls, and hide checks (as do halflings). They get a +4 to dodge when going against giant creatures. They also get spell-like abilities they can use 1 time per day to get away from their foes. Who needed a normal spell-caster in the party anyways?

Most of you may be saying, well the halfling is smaller than the gnome and has a lot of the perks you are giving it. Yes, that is true. What I like about the Gnome the most is the fact that, as a DM, I was able to pull the Gnome straight out of the Monster Manual and utilize it just as it is as an evil cannibalistic character. If I was still a regular player, and not a DM, I would always chose the gnome (if it’s available for the edition the DM is playing) to play. I just like the fact that they are so underestimated in battle because they are so small.

Think of this as a player ok. You come to a room that has a tiny door. A door that would be fit to a small child, 2 ft wide and 3 ft tall. Well you could climb on your hands and knees and go through that door. Whats on the other side? Is something going to come crashing down on you while you are climbing through the doorway? Do you have enough reflex to get away? Or you can let the gnome and halfling go in front of you. Now you must be thinking, “why would I, as a PC playing a gnome, want to send my player first through a random door that is so small it’s like it was made for us?”

Maybe there is treasure on the other side of that door. Maybe there is a monster that you can fight with your fellow small companion and you can get all the experience for yourselves.

Ok, Ok, maybe I just have a soft side for small races because I am tiny myself in reality. No joke. I am 4’10” (and 3/4). Life is a constant struggle for me being short. It’s like its own adventure on its own – but that’s a story for another time.

Back to Gnomes: don’t underestimate the little guy when choosing your race for your next PC. You may come to love playing the smaller or larger characters. Plus, if you have a DM like me and you are not happy with the race you have chosen, i will place you in a precarious situation that you may or may not come out of. All the while rubbing my hands together and laughing maniacally…..just kidding……maybe.

What’s your favorite playable race? Let me know in the comments section!

Don’t forget to check out my Facebooktwitter, and Youtube channel!

Published by: Dungeon Master Kristi

I am a nerd. There I said it, it's out in the open now. I love Star Trek, Star Wars, Firefly, Doctor Who...and the list goes on and on. I also LOVE to play Dungeons and Dragons. I am the Dungeon Master of a game I run once a month with my friends. This website, my Facebook group, and my YouTube channel, are all out there to show you how I design a campaign and build my dungeons. I usually use Hirst Art molds to create and build my dungeons, however, I have been using foam board and random other objects you might think are trash to create items for our games. Four four weekends a month, I work on the story, the design, and putting the game together. I love that my friends can leave their lives behind for a few hours a month and just immerse themselves in my game. This page will just be blog posts describing things that happen in the games, things that happen while working on my builds, and other thoughts on our dungeons and dragons adventures.

Categories dungeons and dragons, entertainment, tabletop gamesTags, , , , , 4 Comments

4 thoughts on “Join The Trend: DAY 2: Favorite Playable Race- The Gnome (for me)”

  1. Human. Always human. It doesn’t limit my choice of classes, and in 3.5E/Pathfinder and 5E they get an extra feat, which I always enjoy having to differentiate my character a little.

    I heard on a WotC podcast recently that the most common race/class combination is human fighter. It surprised and pleased me to hear that.

    Like

  2. I suppose also I just like having my characters pretty firmly grounded and easily relatable. Keeping the race human isn’t necessary, but helps with that.

    Like

  3. I tend to like Half-Elf myself. I’ve been playing 3.5e though for a while. Been looking into 5e and believe my favorite race may change once I get a feel for it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

