Join the Trend: 30 Days of Dungeons and Dragons

30-day-challenge

Day 1- How you got Started

I started playing DND when I was 10 or 11. My brother and his best friend let me join there group and I began a magical journey to my imagination. I believe we played 3rd edition or possibly 3.5. At the time we had no miniatures, maps, or home built dungeons. We just had character sheets and a players handbook we would share. My brother was the DM (or GM if you prefer) and I was quite jealous of his power over the lives of our players. I think I died two games into the game and was quite upset that I could no longer play with them anymore. I did not realize, nor was told (thank you older brother) that I could roll up a new player.

Fast forward 20 some odd years later and I started playing again with my boss and her husband. I forgot how much I loved the game and being able to forget about the world I live in now and go to a whole new world. I also learned about “Leroy Jenkins” and his pitfall with running into a room with no regard to his safety or anyone else’s. I became “Leroy” in my very first game, but that’s a story for another time.

We used pencil and paper for our character sheets, as always, and they utilized a grid map with miniatures. I was blown away by this prospect. I know it sounds silly, but when you start out the game with nothing but your imagination, to going to a game that allows you to actually see where you are in combat compared to your foe was amazing!

Laugh all you will, but ask someone who played Advanced Dungeons and Dragons and they will tell you the same thing. Of course, so I have been told, back then they didn’t even utilize character sheets.

Fast forward a year after that and I was now running my own DND campaign once a month. It was exhilarating to be the DM and have control over everyones lives…..I mean the players lives……

For my first game as a DM, I had 24 hours to come up with a battle plan. We used a white board with a grid marked on it and dry erase markers for the “map”. We only had 1 Dungeon Master Guide, 1 Players Handbook, and 1 Monster Manual, all of which I was borrowing from my boss and her husband. We didn’t even have miniatures yet. I think I used coins or candy as the monsters and players. Over a year later and I have moved up to casting with plaster and building a dungeon instead.

The 30 day challenge was about how I started gaming. Now we have ended with how I became a DM. Here’s to more fun filled nights/days designing a campaign and watching my players make it their own!

How did you start playing? Let me know in the comments!

Don’t forget to check out my Facebooktwitter, and Youtube channel!

Published by: Dungeon Master Kristi

I am a nerd. There I said it, it's out in the open now. I love Star Trek, Star Wars, Firefly, Doctor Who...and the list goes on and on. I also LOVE to play Dungeons and Dragons. I am the Dungeon Master of a game I run once a month with my friends. This website, my Facebook group, and my YouTube channel, are all out there to show you how I design a campaign and build my dungeons. I usually use Hirst Art molds to create and build my dungeons, however, I have been using foam board and random other objects you might think are trash to create items for our games. Four four weekends a month, I work on the story, the design, and putting the game together. I love that my friends can leave their lives behind for a few hours a month and just immerse themselves in my game. This page will just be blog posts describing things that happen in the games, things that happen while working on my builds, and other thoughts on our dungeons and dragons adventures.

Categories UncategorizedTags, , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

