Join the Trend: 30 Days of Dungeons and Dragons (day 5)

30-day-challenge

I don’t have a favorite set of dice really. I have at least 10 sets of dice that I could use for each game. I usually use a set of purple dice, because I like the color purple. Sometimes I throw four or five d20’s at one time, if my dice rolls aren’t working out for me. Unlike a lot of older dnd players, I don’t have the first set of dice I ever used while playing dungeons and dragons. I like dice that are colored with white color for the numbers so I can easily see what I rolled. Some people use dice that have different symbols that corresponds to the number you rolled. I have enough thinking to do as a Dm normally. I don’t want to have to think about what I rolled as well.

What’s your favorite type of dice or dice set? Let me know in the comments.
Don’t forget to check out my Facebooktwitter, and Youtube channel!

Published by: Dungeon Master Kristi

I am a nerd. There I said it, it's out in the open now. I love Star Trek, Star Wars, Firefly, Doctor Who...and the list goes on and on. I also LOVE to play Dungeons and Dragons. I am the Dungeon Master of a game I run once a month with my friends. This website, my Facebook group, and my YouTube channel, are all out there to show you how I design a campaign and build my dungeons. I usually use Hirst Art molds to create and build my dungeons, however, I have been using foam board and random other objects you might think are trash to create items for our games. Four four weekends a month, I work on the story, the design, and putting the game together. I love that my friends can leave their lives behind for a few hours a month and just immerse themselves in my game. This page will just be blog posts describing things that happen in the games, things that happen while working on my builds, and other thoughts on our dungeons and dragons adventures.

Categories dungeons and dragons, entertainment, geek, nerd, tabletop gamesTags, , , , 3 Comments

3 thoughts on “Join the Trend: 30 Days of Dungeons and Dragons (day 5)”

  1. I use a set of metal dice, a fairly vanilla set of Chessex translucent dice, and two sets of 4d6—one made from Q-Workshop with something like dagger blades instead of pips (http://q-workshop.com/p/291/2693/d6-tribal-black-red-.html), and the other made of bone that I got at the Ren Faire this season.

    I hate pretty much every dice rolling app or website that I’ve ever used, because they’re usually too cluttered and clumsy, especially on mobile, so I made my own. The web app version of it is on my website (www.rileyjohngibbs.com), and I have a native version for iOS that currently only lives on my own phone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My first set was clear with black lettering, nothing fancy. Dice had a way of slowly disappearing as they rattled around in my bookbag from place to place as a kid. I think I still have a d10 and a d12 from that set, and a very yellowed d8 that was recovered from my Grand Ma’s driveway after languishing there two decades. They’re more or less just tokens of memory now rather than favored functional tools of randomization. I love complete sets of the same color scheme. I never buy dice I don’t like the look of. So there’s no particular polyhedral artifacts that hold the title for me either. I’m digging the jumbo dice lately, they’ve got heft, and they’re easy to see.

    Like

Leave a comment